47ewrarp9avr t

From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Curriculet Details
50 Questions
42 Annotations
3 Quizzes

This free digital curriculum for high school students contains interactive videos exploring protagonist/antagonist and structure, as well as annotations describing textual connections, motive, and literary devices. Students will explore the themes of trust and vengeance. The Common Core aligned questions, answers and quizzes in this free online unit will increase student engagement in the book while supporting reading comprehension.

The curriculet is being added to your library


Did you know that you can look up any word in the text of the book or the text of the questions and answers? Just click (or press on mobile devices) the word you want to define and hold until the blue text selector pops up. When you release, a define option will appear. Since it's so easy to look up words, make sure you use this feature frequently... Is there a word on this page you need to look up? 
What is Meg alluding to about Minnie? 
Meg and Minnie's conversation refers to events prior to the story. Which literary device is the conversation using? 
Why are Minnie and Meg really going to the party? 


Watch the video below. How does the imagery used in the opening sentence echo Meg's feelings about the weekend? (This annotation contains a video)
What could the deckhand be referring to when telling her to be safe? 
How is the imagery in this highlighted passage encouraging Meg's feelings? 
Considering we know something happened at the Homecoming dance, what does Meg's reaction to T.J. Fletcher tell us? 


How does then comparison to Pepe Le Pew illustrate Meg's feelings for T.J. to us?  (This annotation contains an image)
What does this first scene between T.J. and Meg tell us about Meg's feelings toward T.J. and his towards her? 


In Chapter Two, Meg shared that she is excited to leave for college because she can put herself first. Now that we know what happened at homecoming, who does Meg put before herself? 
Frank the Tank is an allusion to a movie character played by Will Farrell. When he drinks, he becomes a different person than he is sober. That persona is named Frank the Tank. How does this allusion help us understand what happens to Minnie when she drinks? (This annotation contains an image)


Why is Minnie blaming Meg for leaving for college? 


How does Minnie's presence affect the people around her? 
When discussing the murdered body, what should we infer about it from the conversation? 
Why is T.J. so protective of Meg? 


Do you think T.J. chose to be near Meg or is his college choice a coincidence? 
Why is Meg talking herself out of trying to be in a relationship with T.J.? 
Who do you think put almonds in the salad? 


What motive could someone have to put almonds in the salad? 
Why is Nathan targeting T.J.? 
This story is an homage to Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None or Ten Little Indians. The poem the main characters found in Christie's book is below. The teens in this novel have just gotten a similar message in the story. Look at both the poem and the words of the video. Keep them in mind as the story continues. (This annotation contains an image)


Think of some of the behavior displayed by the characters in the previous chapters, both in their actions at the house and in the stories they have told. Why would the video upset them? 
How does the weather mirror Meg's mood? 
Why does Meg think of the morbid when she is walking? 


Is Meg projecting her own feelings about suicide or does she really see these emotions in Lori's eyes? 
Think of the video from the night before. What connection does the note suggest? 


Who is the only one that seems to be connecting the video to the events of the day? 
With everything that is happening, why does Meg care if her journal is left out? 


Why is Vivian disliked? 
Why is the fact that they are completely isolated scary? 
Chapters 1-12 Quiz 


Below is an example of a sailor's knot. Why is Meg questioning Lori's ability to have committed suicide the way she did? (This annotation contains an image)
In the highlighted passage, which two literary devices were used to describe the grotesque scene? 
Is Minnie this self-centered or are her fears and mental problems making her more childish? 
This metaphor connects Minnie's possible upcoming breakdown to Chernobyl refers to a Russian nuclear meltdown in the Ukraine in 1986. In the immediate fallout, 30 people died from the radiation. How does this knowledge help us to understand the seriousness of Minnie's condition? (This annotation contains an image)


Why would someone leave a picture of another suicide victim in Meg and Minnie's room? 


How is the personification of the trees and the storm adding to the tone of the novel? 
What is Meg starting to realize about the property and their situation? 


How could the gas be a good thing? How could the gas be a dangerous thing? 
Why is Meg so terrified of Minnie's reaction to her and T.J.? 


What do Meg and T.J. both know, but refuse to acknowledge? 
Why are the characters unwilling to admit that someone is killing people at the house? 
What should this highlighted passage confirm about the two deaths? 


Why is Nathan so determined Meg is the one using the paint? 
What motive does T.J. have in keeping the sawed railing a secret from the others? 
Why is Meg given the mysterious journal? 


Why is Nathan so determined that Meg is the one who is doing these things? 
Watch the video on irony. What is ironic about Meg's behavior with the journal? (This annotation contains a video)


Whose journal can we guess this is? 

Twenty One

Why is Meg truly friends with Minnie? 
What is ironic about the fact that Meg is reading about Caire's experience? 

Twenty Two

Should Meg be connecting the information she gathered from Claire's journal to what is happening in the house? 
Why does Meg flinch at the accusation? 

Twenty Three

Is it logical to accuse Kenny and Nathan? Is it logical to accuse each other? 
Lord of the Flies is a book where a plane full of boys are stranded on an island. They become wild and some are killed. (This annotation contains an image)
Which theory makes more sense: that Kenny and Nathan are the killers or that Vivian and Lori are the killers? Or could it be someone who has already left the house? 
Why does Minnie say Meg hides more lies? 

Twenty Four

How does the break in the weather mirror the group's realization of what is happening? 
Why does T.J.'s questioning bother Meg so much? 
Which literary device is being used to describe the Taylors' house? 
How are both types of conflict present? How are the conflicts moving the story and the characters forward? (This annotation contains a video)
Why is the revelation that the other house is empty chill Meg to her bones? 
Chapters 13-24 

Twenty Five

Why is Meg reacting so erratically? 
What is a safe assumption about Jessica's invitation and her Dad's call that they would be late? 

Twenty Six

What does it mean that the killer also murdered the Taylors? 
This highlighted passage refers to Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice. Below is a picture from the Colin Firth miniseries of their kiss. Compare this love scene to the one Meg is describing. (This annotation contains an image)
What is the "something sinister" chasing them? 
Why is Nathan the key to who the killer is? 

Twenty Seven

This quote is from Romans 12:19. Read the quote below. How is the killer using the quote as a justification? (This annotation contains an image)
How were the methods of death chosen for each of the murdered? 

Twenty Eight

Who is the girl that Claire was paired with in physics? 
Why is Meg so sure the killer is Claire Hicks? 

Twenty Nine

Why has Minnie avoided talking about Homecoming with Meg? 
Watch the video on structure below. Now consider how the author structured this book to explain a complicated motive for multiple murders. How does the structure of the story take seemingly unrelated pieces of the puzzle and fit them together for the reader? (This annotation contains a video)


Why does Meg hesitate? 
Who has been reading Meg's journal? 

Thirty One

Is Minnie overreacting because she feels betrayed or because she is off her medication? 
Does Minnie really remember sleeping with T.J.? She seems to forget what she does when she drinks alcohol. 

Thirty Two

How have Meg's feelings about the room changed similarly to how her feelings about Minnie changed? 
Meg has said that is Claire Hicks that is the killer, yet when she is talking about the killer, she says he. Why? 

Thirty Three

Meg was so sure that Claire Hicks was the killer. Why is she questioning who the killer is now? 
What points to T.J. as the killer? 
Who is Meg accusing T. J. of killing in the highlighted section? 

Thirty Four

Why did Meg have to force herself to  believe he would have killed her? 
Who do you think is the "he" Minnie is talking about? 

Thirty Five

As Ben is explaining how he committed the murders, he claims he "won." The tone in which he speaks and the fact that he thinks he won, shows that he is 
Did they all play a role in killing Claire or is Claire responsible for her own actions? 

Thirty Six

Watch the video on protagonists and antagonists. Throughout the book, Meg has been the protagonist against an unknown antagonist. Now that she is facing Ben, how does this change the tone of the story? (This annotation contains a video)
Why is it important that Ben killed the Taylors without a second thought? 

Thirty Seven

Which literary term is describing Meg's emotional state in this moment? 

Thirty Eight

Is Meg justified in believing she needs to keep a weapon nearby? 
How did Ben use Meg's feelings against her? 
Chapters 25-38 Quiz